Love · Social Diaries · social, drinking, · Travel · Uncategorized

Social Diaries….. Turning 30 …. Appreciating my friendships

Now when you hit a milestone you start to realise and come to terms with what and who is most important in your life. Like I said before I knew who I looked up to but also choosing who I give my time to and who I feel really does value my friendship and whose friendship I value to the highest is what influenced who I invited to my Hot Tub party at Tattershall Lakes.

I am gutted but one of my great friends was poorly on our trip so she couldn’t make it but I still love my Leanne to the max. Leanne I met when I was 17 we both joined Thomas Cook Signature on the same day. My eldest daughter was only around 8 weeks old when I joined and I would go to Leanne’s for sleepovers and bless Leanne’s mum, Sue would look after Tiarra while we went out.😀 Leanne was the first friend that I met in a workplace and continued our friendship afterwards. I miss Leanne’s fireworks nights, I would always go to them when I lived in Cambridgeshire.

A lot of people don’t realise that true friends really are hard to come by, I have learnt that with my friends, we don’t have to live in each other’s pockets, we respect each other’s space, relationships and time. We understand that some of us have children and some don’t, but we never hold that against anyone. We can go months without speaking or seeing each other and when we do it’s like we saw each other yesterday.

5 years ago I moved to Yorkshire from Cambridgeshire with just my husband and at the time our 2 children, I left all my family and friends behind. It was a big move but as most people know I am always up for something new and I knew if it didn’t work we could always move back. Fortunately it has worked and we love it in Yorkshire and are here to stay. Moving though meant I wasn’t able to see my friends as much, and even being in the same town you get busy so moving away I was afraid that we were going to drift apart. Luckily the friends I have, I really do feel like the luckiest girl in the world, even more than 100 miles away if I need my friends they are there, if they need me I am there. If I am going through a tough time they send me flowers, beautiful messages and encouragement.

So anyway myself and 3 of my bestest friends went to a Hot Tub caravan in Tattershall Lakes, Amii, Georgina and Emma. It was soo much fun, with my friends it’s very different to most as my friends that I include are all brought together by me, Georgina is my oldest friends since year 7 (11 years old) in school, she is funny, tells you how it is and just the most caring person I know and the Godmother to my children. Amii funny enough was my brothers girlfriend but she dumped him for me hahaha I have known Amii since I was in year 9 (13 years old) at school. Amii is my ride or die, she has always go my back, she doesn’t take no shit and is so wonderful to me and my kids and also a Godmother to my children. Now Emma is the second person who I met in a workplace that have kept a friendship outside, the moment I met Emma was an instant connection, we just talked for ages, she is so lovely and caring, can’t do enough for anyone, I tell you everyone needs a friend like Emma, Georgina , Leanne and Amii.

We are not a friendship group, but when we are all together we get along great which is so good, when you have a group of women who all have different personalities.

We drank, played never have I ever which gave us some embarrassing insights to each other, drank some more. Giggled in the hot tub while obviously taking loads of pictures. Our competitive sides came out through games of scattergories and then a really fun game called Yahtzee which AMII brought and I had never played before. I can say though that I am the YHATZEE CHAMPION!!! I bought all my girls personalised pj’s just as a thank you for being here in my life and making the effort for me.

9

Georgina made a lovely afternoon tea for us on the Saturday, I cooked a curry on Saturday night a little tipsy not sure how I did that, and Amii made a great breakfast Sunday morning. There was so much food left over.. no drink though 😂😂.

But I must say all in all I had a fantastic weekend with my girls, I really appreciate the friends that I have. You need to realise it’s not the quantity of friends you have but the quality of friendships you have. Surround yourself with positive, supportive people. Surround yourself with people that can uplift you and that you uplift them. Know that it’s not about receiving but always about giving, always be kind to one another and respect one another. You will have arguments and not always agree but forgive freely when it’s your friends don’t hold grudges and be happy. Happiness is key. If your hurt tell them how you feel, if your excited tell them too, real and true friends are hard to come by.

I love my friends and this post is for you, Georgina, Amii, Emma and Leanne thank you for being so you are I love you girls so much.

Love always,

The Crossley Mamma xxxx

Leave a comment